The Utah Chapter of the ASSE recognized Danielle Denne, CSP, MPH and Andrew S. Merryweather, Ph.D., as their 2015-1016 Safety Professionals of the Year at the Joint Utah Conference on Safety and Industrial Hygiene held on October 14th – 15th 2015.

Danielle received a Bachelor of Science in Environmental Health & Occupational Safety from Brigham Young University and a Masters of Public Health with an Industrial Hygiene Emphasis from the University of Utah. She is a Certified Safety Professional who is employed by the Workers Compensation Fund as Manager, Customer Safety Training & Technology. She has previously served as Membership Chair for our Chapter and is currently serving as the Chapter’s President – Elect.

Dr. Merryweather received a Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering from Utah State University and a Master of Science and a Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Utah. He is employed as Assistant Professor with the University of Utah, Department of Mechanical Engineering. Dr. Merryweather serves the Utah Chapter of the ASSE as the Student Section Advisor for our University of Utah Student Section and as our Chapter’s Website Administrator.

Congratulations Danielle and Dr. Merryweather and thank you for all you do to promote the safety and health of Utah’s workforce and that of the general public!

The Department of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Utah is committed to providing students with broad-based, rigorous and progressive education. By combining state-of-the-art facilities with renowned faculty, the department provides an education that gives students the necessary skills to become the next generation of innovators.