2024 Alum-of-the-Year Award

Nominations Due July 15th

The Department of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Utah invites nominations for the 2024 Alum-of-the-Year Award.  The award recognizes an alum of the Department of Mechanical Engineering who has attained outstanding achievements and success in their professions and/or has attained outstanding service to their communities.

Selection Criteria
  • Nominees must have graduated from the Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Utah.
  • Criteria includes professional achievements and/or personal service that brings recognition and honor to the Department of Mechanical Engineering and the University of Utah.
  • All nominations will remain active/in consideration for three years.
  • Current University of Utah employees are not eligible for consideration.
Nomination and Selection Process
  • Submit nomination letter that describes distinctive and notable accomplishments in the nominee’s professional career and/or service to their communities. Detailed nominee’s resume is recommended.
  • Nominations due to Kam Leang by July 15, 2024
  • IAB evaluates and makes recommendation to the ME Dept. Chair by September.
  • The award winner is required to attend the Department of Mechanical Engineering Fall Social, where they will be honored at the event and present a seminar to students, faculty, and guests.
Past Recipients

2019 – Josh Gray

2020 – Abigail Hunter

2021 – Chris Hirschi

2022 – Jared Campbell

2023 – Lynne Hopper